VAR ‘robs’ Man Utd of penalty vs Tottenham as Cristian Romero gets away with one

Manchester United fans feel they were ‘robbed’ of a penalty in the first half of their match against Tottenham after referee Michael Oliver and VAR opted against punishing Cristian Romero after the ball struck his hand in the box. United and Tottenham were embroiled in a tense opening 45 minutes with both sides having opportunities to break the deadlock.

Bruno Fernandes missed from close range with a free header just six yards out while Tottenham hit the woodwork twice in quick succession. But United were left feeling aggrieved for not being awarded a penalty midway through the half.

Alejandro Garnacho found himself in some space on the edge of the box and he attempted a curling shot towards the top corner. Romero came rushing into block the shot and it clearly struck his right arm.

Referee Olivier waved away United’s protests and VAR stuck with the on-field decision, to the dismay of United supporters watching.

@NuTyrant tweeted: “Manchester United got robbed and no one is saying anything about it, If it was the other way round the tl would’ve been filled with rivals tears.”

@AndyKe_ wrote: “Manchester United was robbed a Penalty by VAR and the Refs, its clear as daylight, Michael Oliver is Complicit.”

@MarvelManUtd complained: “Seriously all united fans, we need to do something about this. We can’t continue getting robbed year after year.”

@UtdDyIan posted: “United robbed of a clear pen, guess that cancels out last weeks.”

Don’t miss…
Man Utd have already decided their next three sales with Erik ten Hag ‘hope'[LATEST]
Man Utd chief ‘shelves’ Mason Greenwood video as chaotic saga continues[LATEST]
Man Utd boss Erik ten Hag responds to PGMOL apology over Wolves penalty incident[LATEST]

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

United icon Gary Neville wasn’t 100 per cent sure on whether it was a stonewall penalty for his former side.

After watching numerous replays, Neville understood why the officials didn’t point to the spot.

“Both of his arms were up,” Neville said.

“It’s whether his right arm was close enough to his body.”

Source: Read Full Article