Man Utd, Liverpool and Chelsea ‘among five clubs to sign up for Super League’

Don’t wait around for updates – sign up for our daily football email newsletter today!

Five English clubs are among 11 European sides who have agreed to a breakaway Super League – on the eve of UEFA announcing a new format for the Champions League.

Manchester United, Liverpool, Arsenal, Chelsea and Tottenham Hotspur have all agreed to the new project, according to the Times.

But Manchester City are the only 'big six' outfit in the Premier League not to sign up just yet.

UEFA's new Champions League format will see 36 teams enter the competition at the group stage, with teams playing 10 group matches, rather than six.

The governing body believed it had fended off the challenge of a Super League but are now panicking just hours before they were due to announce their plans for the current competition.

Uefa had succeeded in winning the support of the European Club Association but the Super League project has been revived by Juventus owner Andrea Agnelli.

Back in January it emerged that founder members of a proposed European Super League would be offered up to £310m each to join the competition if it gets the go ahead.

15 clubs would be founding members, while five other teams would qualify on a season-by-season basis.

The Times report other Super League proposals include:

– Two groups of 10 clubs who play home and away, with the top four from each group going through to two-legged quarter-finals, semi-finals and a one-legged final.

– Matches would be midweek

– Clubs would have rights to show four matches a season on their own the digital platforms

– 20 per cent of the pot would be merit money “distributed in the same manner as the current English Premier League merit-based system” according to where clubs finish in the competition

– The remaining 15 per cent would a “commercial share based on club awareness”

– A cap of 55 per cent of revenues permitted to be spent on salaries and transfers

– A ‘Financial Sustainability Group’ would monitor clubs’ spending

  • Arsenal FC
  • Chelsea FC
  • Manchester United FC
  • Liverpool FC
  • Tottenham Hotspur FC
  • Champions League
  • Premier League
  • Money

Source: Read Full Article