Bronze, Mead and Bright earn nominations for women's Ballon d'Or award

Lionesses stars Lucy Bronze, Beth Mead and Millie Bright all earn nominations for women’s Ballon d’Or award… with England trio joining Ada Hegerberg, Vivianne Miedema and Alexia Putellas on star-studded 20-person shortlist

  • Lucy Bronze, Millie Bright and Beth Mead have earned Ballon d’Or nominations
  • The Lioness stars helped marshal England to Euro 2022 glory at the end of July
  • They join a talented list including Ada Hegerberg, Sam Kerr and Alexia Putellas

Beth Mead, Lucy Bronze and Millie Bright have each been nominated for the women’s Ballon d’Or award, having marshalled England to Euro 2022 glory last month.

The Lionesses join a illustrious 20-person shortlist including Barcelona captain Alexia Putellas, Chelsea striker Sam Kerr and Arsenal star Vivianne Miedema.

Barcelona boast a quarter of the nominees, with Bronze and Putellas being joined by team-mates Fridolina Rolfo, Aitana Bonmati and Asisat Oshoala on the shortlist.

Lucy Bronze (pictured), Beth Mead and Millie Bright have each earned Ballon d’Or nominations

Mead (L) and Bright (R) were instrumental in guiding the Lionesses to Euro 2022 glory in July

Norwegian Ada Hegerberg won the inaugural women’s Ballon d’Or in 2018 and has been nominated for the award once again this year.

Putellas, who tore her ACL in a training session ahead of Spain’s first Euro 2022 game, won the award in 2021 and is bidding to become the first woman to retain the gong.

Outside of Europe, USA internationals Catarina Macario, Trinity Rodman and Alex Morgan have been nominated, alongside Chile and Lyon star Christiane Endler.

Last year’s winner Alexia Putellas has been nominated again despite missing out on Euro 2022

Selma Bacha, Lena Oberdorf, Kadidiatou Diani, Alexandra Popp, Wendie Renard and Marie-Antoinette Katoto complete the 20-strong shortlist.

The Ballon d’Or ceremony is set to take place on October 17 in Paris, two months earlier than its conventional date. 

For the first time in the history of the award, the Ballon d’Or will be given based on results and performances of the previous season, rather than the last calendar year. 

Ballon d’Or 2022 Nominees 

Asisat Oshoala (Barcelona)

Marie Antoinette Katoto (PSG)

Millie Bright (Chelsea)

Trinity Rodman (Washington)

Ada Hegerberg (Lyon)

Alexandra Popp (Wolfsburg)

Aitana Bonmati (Barcelona)

Wendie Renard (Lyon)

Alex Morgan (San Diego)

Beth Mead (Arsenal)

Lena Oberdorf (Wolfsburg)

Kadidiatou Diani (PSG)

Catarina Macario (Lyon)

Alexia Putellas (Barcelona)

Selma Bacha (Lyon)

Fridolina Rolfo (Barcelona)

Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal)

Lucy Bronze (Barcelona)

Sam Kerr (Chelsea)

Christiane Endler (Lyon)

Share this article

Source: Read Full Article