Avalanche’s run to the Stanley Cup is one of the best in NHL history

Wayne Gretzky’s 1988 Edmonton Oilers are the gold standard of Stanley Cup runs with their 16-2 playoff record unmatched since the NHL postseason moved to four best-of-seven rounds in 1987. But right underneath the Oilers is another set of champions, one the Avs just joined by claiming the Cup with a 16-4 record in these playoffs.

Here’s a look at the best of the best:

YearTeamRecordCup Final
1988Edmonton16-24-0 over Boston
2022Colorado16-44-2 over Tampa Bay
2012Los Angeles16-44-2 over New Jersey
1997Detroit16-44-0 over Philadelphia
1995New Jersey16-44-0 over Detroit
1993Montreal16-44-1 over Los Angeles
2007Anaheim16-54-1 over Ottawa
1992Pittsburgh16-54-0 over Chicago
1987Edmonton16-54-3 over Philadelphia

Source: hockey-reference.com

Source: Read Full Article