Al Boum Photo heads 41 Magners Cheltenham Gold Cup entries

Dual winner Al Boum Photo heads 41 entries for this year's Magners Cheltenham Gold Cup.

Willie Mullins' chaser could join Best Mate, Arkle and Cottage Rake as the fourth horse to record a hat-trick in the Festival's feature contest.

The nine-year-old returned to action with a smooth success in the Grade 3 Savills New Year’s Day Chase at Tramore – the same race he won prior to his Prestbury Park victories in 2019 and 2020.

Joe and Marie Donnelly's star is one of 17 Irish horses in the potential line-up, which includes Henry de Bromhead's Savills Chase victor A Plus Tard and his stablemate Minella Indo.

The six horses behind Al Boum Photo in last year's race; Santini, Lostintranslation, Monalee, Delta Work, Real Steel and Kemboy could renew rivalry.

Other key contenders include Nicky Henderson's Champ, King George VI Chase winner Frodon and Colin Tizzard's 2018 hero Native River.

Ruth Jefferson has not committed the lightly-raced Waiting Patiently to the test, as he may step down in trip at the meeting instead.

“Waiting Patiently is very well at home and has come out of the King George absolutely bouncing," she said.

"He has been doing handstands and was squealing yesterday morning because the lot was late going out.

“We have decided to enter him in all of the possible targets at the Cheltenham Festival just to keep our options open – at least for now.

"The Champion Chase, Ryanair Chase and the Gold Cup are all championship races and it just makes sense at this stage to keep him in all three."

Al Boum Photo is 7-2 with Coral to land a historic third victory at the Home of Jump Racing.

"Despite winning the last two Gold Cups, Al Boum Photo has seemingly not yet captured punters' hearts," said spokesman David Stevens.

"He remains 7-2 favourite to triumph for a third time, in contrast to the last horse to win three in a row – Best Mate – who was odds-on (4-5 with Coral) for the Cheltenham showpiece at this stage of his hat-trick seeking season."

Gold Cup 2021 entries

Acapella Bourgeois (FR) 11 Slaneyville Syndicate W. P. Mullins IRE

Al Boum Photo (FR) 9 Mrs J. Donnelly W. P. Mullins IRE

Allaho (FR) 7 Cheveley Park Stud W. P. Mullins IRE

A Plus Tard (FR) 7 Cheveley Park Stud Henry de Bromhead IRE

Aso (FR) 11 The Bellamy Partnership Venetia Williams

Battleoverdoyen (IRE) 8 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott IRE

Black Op (IRE) 10 Mr R. S. Brookhouse Tom George

Bristol de Mai (FR) 10 Mr Simon Munir & Mr Isaac Souede Nigel Twiston-Davies

Burrows Saint (FR) 8 Mrs S. Ricci W. P. Mullins IRE

Castlebawn West (IRE) 8 Mrs Boyd,Mrs Armstrong,Exors JB Anderson W. P. Mullins IRE

Champ (IRE) 9 Mr John P. McManus Nicky Henderson

Cyrname (FR) 9 Mrs Johnny de la Hey Paul Nicholls

Delta Work (FR) 8 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott IRE

Frodon (FR) 9 Mr P. J. Vogt Paul Nicholls

Imperial Aura (IRE) 8 Imperial Racing Partnership 2016 Kim Bailey

Itchy Feet (FR) 7 Kate & Andrew Brooks Olly Murphy

Kemboy (FR) 9 Kemboy/Brett Graham/Ken Sharp Syndicate W. P. Mullins IRE

Lake View Lad (IRE) 11 Mr Trevor Hemmings N. W. Alexander

Lord du Mesnil (FR) 8 Mr Paul Porter & Mike & Mandy Smith Richard Hobson

Lostintranslation (IRE) 9 Taylor & O'Dwyer Colin Tizzard

Magic of Light (IRE) 10 Ann & Alan Potts Limited Mrs J. Harrington IRE

Master Tommytucker (GB) 10 Mr A. G. Fear Paul Nicholls

Melon (GB) 9 Mrs J. Donnelly W. P. Mullins IRE

Minella Indo (IRE) 8 Mr Barry Maloney Henry de Bromhead IRE

Mister Malarky (GB) 8 Wendy & Malcolm Hezel Colin Tizzard

Monalee (IRE) 10 Mr Barry Maloney Henry de Bromhead IRE

Native River (IRE) 11 Brocade Racing Colin Tizzard

Presenting Percy (GB) 10 Philip J. Reynolds Gordon Elliott IRE

Real Steel (FR) 8 Mrs Kathy Stuart & Sullivan Bloodstock Ltd Paul Nicholls

Royale Pagaille (FR) 7 Mrs S. Ricci Venetia Williams

Saint Calvados (FR) 8 Kate & Andrew Brooks Harry Whittington

Samcro (IRE) 9 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott IRE

Santini (GB) 9 Mr & Mrs R. Kelvin-Hughes Nicky Henderson

Shattered Love (IRE) 10 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott IRE

Simply The Betts (IRE) 8 Kate & Andrew Brooks Harry Whittington

Spyglass Hill (IRE) 8 Mr Niall O'Leary Henry de Bromhead IRE

Terrefort (FR) 8 Mr Simon Munir & Mr Isaac Souede Nicky Henderson

The Conditional (IRE) 9 Mr P. J. Cave David Bridgwater

Vinndication (IRE) 8 Moremoneythan Kim Bailey

Waiting Patiently (IRE) 10 Mr Richard Collins Ruth Jefferson

Yorkhill (IRE) 11 D & D Armstrong Ltd & Mr L Westwood Sandy Thomson

Source: Read Full Article