AFL premiership coaches Kevin Sheedy and Denis Pagan lead Victoria’s best jockeys in VRC Rapid Racing at Flemington

AFL legends Kevin Sheedy and Denis Pagan will lead Victoria‘s best city and country jockeys in the second-annual Rapid Racing at Flemington on January 29.

All seven races on the punchy program will be run over 1000m to 1200m with 30-minute gaps.

The Jockeys Challenge will determine the winner of the Rapid Racing silverware.

Reigning Rapid Racing champion Pagan, a Group 1 Victoria Derby-winning trainer and dual North Melbourne premiership coach, led the triumphant city team last year.

Victorian premiership leader Jamie Kah leads the city team, along with champions Craig Williams and Damien Oliver and 2020 Melbourne Cup-winner Jye McNeil.

Multiple Group 1 winners Damian Lane and Mark Zahra and leading apprentice Will Price rounds out a star-studded group.

The in-form Jamie Kah leads the city team.Source:Getty Images

Damien Oliver will team up with Kah.Source:Getty Images

“Star jockeys such as Jamie Kah and Damien Oliver are normally rivals but I’m delighted for Rapid Racing they will be on the same team,” Pagan said.

“Trying their best to make it back-to-back wins for the metro side … now that I’ve won the Derby, I’m hoping they might take a bit more notice of me this year!”

Denis Pagan after his amazing Victoria Derby win with Johnny Get Angry.Source:News Corp Australia

Country coach Sheedy, a long-time turf aficionado who famously part-owned champion sprinter-turned-super sire Bel Esprit, will make his Rapid Racing debut.

“I’m a big supporter of regional sport and can’t wait to see Victoria’s leading country jockeys showcase their skills at Flemington,” Sheedy said.

Horse Racing: With only a few strides to go the heavily backed favorite has slammed on the brakes leaving punters heartbroken….

Horse Racing: With only a few strides to go the heavily backed favorite has slammed on the brakes leaving punters heartbroken.

“Denis and I have enjoyed a healthy level of competition in the past and he’ll have to bring his A-game to beat us!”

Group 1 winners John Allen, Harry Coffey, Dean Yendall and Dean Holland lead the country team, along with Jamie Mott, Jack Hill and young gun apprentice Madison Lloyd.

A maximum of 10 points per race (4-3-2-1) will go towards the jockeys’ challenge.

Each coach must nominate two races as their double points “power plays”.

Originally published asWhy Sheedy, Pagan are playing it straight at Flemington

Source: Read Full Article