Italian Open order of play: Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic in action

Federer reportedly requested an afternoon opening match at the Italian Open but tournament organisers have placed him first on the main court.

The Italian Open have come under fire this week for doubling ticket prices for Wednesday after Federer confirmed his attendance.

But fans who had already purchased a ticket will be excited to see the 20-time Grand Slam winner get play underway at 10am against Joao Sousa.

They will then be treated to world No 2 Nadal, who takes on Jeremy Chardy straight after the conclusion of Federer on centre court.

US and Australian Open winner Naomi Osaka completes the morning session on the main stage.

World No 1 Djokovic will play for the first time since winning the Madrid Open when he kicks off the evening session.

He is followed by Anett Konataveit vs Maria Sakkari.

Dominic Thiem vs Fernando Verdasco is the star match on Grandstand, while Johanna Konta vs Sloane Stephens is the key match on Pietrangela.

Centrale – 10am start (BST)

Joao Sousa vs Roger Federer

Jeremy Chardy vs Rafael Nadal

Naomi Osaka vs Dominika Cibulkova

Not before 6.30pm (BST)

Novak Djokovic vs Denis Shapovalov

Anett Konataveit vs Maria Sakkari

Grandstand – 10am start (BST)

Amanda Anisimove vs Kiki Bertens

Dominic Thiem vs Fernando Verdasco

Radu Albot vs Fabio Fognini

Yulia Putintseva vs Petra Kvitova

David Goffin vs Juan Martin del Potro

Pietrangela – 10am start (BST)

Johanna Konta vs Sloane Stephens

Simona Halep vs Marketa Vondrousova

Taylor Fritz vs Kei Nishikori

Stefanos Tsitsipas vs Jannik Sinner

Mihaela Buzarnescu vs Julia Goerges

Source: Read Full Article